Home » Uncategorized » Michael Jackson – my 2 cents

Michael Jackson – my 2 cents

Like What You See? Please Promote Me

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : post to facebook

Welcome to the JLC Writing Services Blog

Jason Curts

My Disclaimer

It has occured to me, with the help of my wonderful wife, that while this blog has some useful information about writing and blogging, the content is pretty vanilla. I originally set this up to showcase my ability to write, but quickly got away from doing just that...

So with that said, you will see some changes to the type of content being generated through my blog. Mostly, I'm letting loose and whatever comes to mind will probably show up here.

I have a lot of opinions and many observations about life and the craziness that goes on around all of us. None of it will be meant to offend, as I think everyone is entitled to their opinion. I will respect yours and I ask that you respect mine as well.

I would urge you to comment and share your opinions as well - It's what makes this world, and life, exciting.

If you like my writing style and see that it could fit in one of your upcoming projects, please get in touch with me. I love to write and being able to do it for a living is the ultimate dream job for me.

Cheers,


Jason

Contact Me

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Online Marketing Toplist OnToplist is optimized by SEO Add blog to our blog directory.

It’s Sunday night and people have  had a few days to digest the news of Michael Jackson’s death. I’ve had mixed emotions about his passing. I am not a particularly huge fan, although the Thriller album was the first cassette tape I ever owned – given to me for Easter of all occasions.

I don’t know that I really understood the music back then. I would guess I was 6 or 7 at the time it came out. I think I was more in love with the video, and everything that would make it scary to a child of my age. I can’t say I ever owned another Michael Jackson album.

I vaguely remembered him catching his hair on fire while shooting a Pepsi commercial. His later escapades are clearer – marrying Lisa Marie, dangling his child over a balcony, and of course the numerous accusations. It seems that any time Jackson made headlines…the circumstances were weirder and weirder. I guess it is fitting that his final headline was that of dying at a relatively still young age.

His icon status, along with perceived oddities, made it pretty easy to see him less as a person and more as a product. I guess that’s why I’m not all that sad to hear of his death. Too many accusations from children have soured my image of him as well. I have to believe, some of it had to be true or that partial truths are being told.

I feel bad for his family and his true fans. However, all the hysteria is a little much (at least in this country). You have your typical bandwagon fans out there. People who claim to be fans, but probably haven’t listened to his music in a decade. Yet there they are….crying for the camera. Had he not died, they probably wouldn’t have thought about him for another 20 years, but because there is so much attention on the story – they feel they have to be a part of it.

Add in the media coverage on every major news outlet and I’m left looking for anything that might not reference MJ (mostly Animal Planet) – although there will probably be a story about his pet chimp Bubbles at some point.

Anyone else tired of seeing the “Breaking News” reports 72 hours after the real “Breaking News” occurred?

Leave a Reply

